History of the furniture component manufacturer proroll

1987

1989

1997

1999

2008

2018
PROROLL WITH OWN SOLAR SYSTEM

Creating sustainability has been an important part of the proroll company philosophy for a long time: Therefore it was only logical that proroll implemented its own solar energy system in order to use the power of the Bergisch Sun in the future. On the huge area of the storage and assembly halls of the Hückeswagen headquarters 180 solar modules were installed, which form the supply basis of a new solar energy system supplying 59KW of energy. This is enough to provide proroll throughout the day – and beyond.

2017
WINGS – A DESIGN OF MORNING – TODAY AT PROROLL

The design language of the future – for furniture ideas of today. Solid aluminium and a strong line management in the
Aviation design – the new “Wings” base

2016
30 YEARS PROROLL

Unbelievable what has happened at proroll in the last three decades – from very small beginnings as a roll trader in a backyard, the company has developed into an internationally active producer and wholesaler. The times weren’t always rosy, because there were also Ups & Downs, to which also proroll had to react… what happened everything in the last thirty years? Travel further down the page with our memories of the last three decades.

2015
100QM PROROLL QS-CENTER:

A quality inspection is good… Endurance tests are even better! For this reason, extensive endurance test series of various articles have been running in the brand-new proroll test centre for a few weeks now. Modern test machines now complement the comprehensive quality assurance management at the Hückeswagen site. In the new test centre, we verify the products of our suppliers, regularly update our own test data and determine the technical properties of our own products, developments and innovations //

2014
FOOTCROSS SERIES BERLIN WILL BE DEVELOPED

In 2014 the development of a completely new base series was on the agenda, and the internal proroll think tank was successful in answering the question: What does the market need, which design fits to current furniture designs? Berlin is the answer. Clear structures, reduced design and a convincing presentation at interzum 2015

2013
PROROLL CONTINUES TO GROW

Yes, the hall can be extended…which is why now 1,600 square metres are added. What started with a manageable inventory of a few crates and boxes has by now developed into a success story. Today, 22 permanent employees earn a turnover of around EUR 10 million. With an export quota of 32% and business activities in more than 30 countries, the name proroll is known in all of Europe and even in additional countries such as Australia, Canada and the USA.

2012
THE IDEA FOR AN EXTENSION

More space for the component assembly “Made in Hückeswagen” and for the development of order components is needed – could a new hall be added to the existing one for this purpose?

2011
THE “LONDON” STAR BASE SERIES

Sales start of the innovative star base series LONDON_345, a modern classic with high aesthetic appeal.

Made of solid cast aluminium and produced in Europe it starts on its conquest.

2010
THE OFFICE CHAIR RACE

For the first time, proroll sponsors the “Office Chair Race” – a crazy event where traditional office furniture comes to full swing. A matter of honour: The proroll team hits the race track as well!

2008
AT HOME AT LAST

The building plans become reality – in Heinrich-Schicht-Straße ideal conditions of a location are found for the gigantic new building. At last a domicile of the company’s own is created, entirely and wholly customised for proroll!

2008
PLANNING FOR THE FUTURE

In 2008 the situation on tight space in Industriestraße stops being fun; the increasing assembly of components in Hückeswagen requires more space and the outsourced storage capacities are inefficient and tied to high costs. In January a new transport roller series is launched… and proroll makes the initial cut with a spade for the integration administration, assembly and storage in one modern domicile.

2003
TURNOVER OF EUR 2 MILLION

Demand continues to grow, soon an additional high bay warehouse with a space of 400 square metres is needed!

2007
TURNOVER OF EUR 5 MILLION
1999
THE COMPANY’S OWN SERIES OF ROLLERS & FURNITURE COMPONENTS

proroll develops from a trading company to a manufacturer. Using its own tools, the company’s own starbases and equipment rollers are manufactured at home and abroad – the quality standards can thereby be enforced in the design engineering already. The product portfolio is expanded by a second area. Chair and furniture components have now been added.

1997
INTERZUM IN COLOGNE

The product range was intensely revised and reoriented over the past years. The new focus in terms of products and customers are now the furniture industry and shop furnishings.

1991
IN THE FOOTSTEPS OF SUCCESS

In 1991, the sales manager Stefan Fornahl becomes Managing Partner of the company after the takeover of shares from Reinhold Kohn. Sales have more than doubled by that time already. The difficult new start just five years before was transformed into dynamic growth – to DM 1.8 million!!

1992
THE OFFICIAL NAME IS PROROLL

A new company name is to signify the successful changes as well. After the name had been used previously as a product brand, from now on there is also the company “proroll” quite officially… soon thereafter, the Fornahl family takes overall company shares

1989
NORDSTRASSE 90 IN REMSCHEID

While the snow was cleared once again in Bergisches Land, time for a change came again at proroll– the relocation to larger business spaces. From 1989 onward, 600 square metres are available in an old auto repair shop for the product range of wheels and rollers. At this site, the first big boom in the company’s growth is seen in the following years.

Stefan Fornahl completes his professional training and contributes new impulses and new ideas to the company as sales manager.

1988
IRON PRODUCTS TRADE SHOW

The business started to go well – two years after the takeover of the roller company, the new enterprise presents itself proudly at the trade show for iron products in Cologne. The programme primarily targets iron products dealers and industry…

1987
ELBERFELDER STR. 112

In the same year when technical pioneer work sent the space station MIR into orbit, people were busy taking inventory, counting stored screws and rollers, while new products were contemplated that might ahead push the company into a higher orbit. 1987 Today’s Managing Director, Stefan Fornahl, starts his training to become wholesale and foreign trade merchandiser

03 FEBRUARY
1986
THE ORIGIN

The proroll story began in 1986 with an inventory of goods valued DM 30,000. What a success story it was to become one day would never have been suspected by anyone during that harsh winter back then in Bergisches Land. In February, Mr Fornahl senior was one of the shareholders in the restructuring of the roller technology company “Rollentechnik Kohn” – a rather small wholesaler of wheels and rollers. This was the beginning of what has later become proroll…

Die proroll-Story2018-07-13T14:56:15+00:00

1987

1989

1997

1999

2008

2018
PROROLL MIT EIGENER SOLARANLAGE

Nachhaltigkeit zu schaffen, das ist seit langem schon eine wichtiger Teil der proroll-Firmenphilosophie: Deshalb war es nur konsequent, dass proroll seine eigene Solarenergie-Anlage umsetzt, um zukünftig auch die Kraft der Bergischen Sonne zu nutzen. Auf der riesigen Fläche der Lager- und Montagehallen des Hückeswagener Hauptquartiers wurden 180 Solarmodule installiert, die die Versorgungsbasis einer neuen Solarenergieanlage bilden, die 59KW Energie liefern. Das reicht aus, um proroll über den Tag zu versorgen – und darüber hinaus.

2017
WINGS – EIN DESIGN VON MORGEN – SCHON HEUTE BEI PROROLL

Die Formensprache der Zukunft – für Möbelideen von heute. Massives Aluminium und eine starke Linienführung im
Aviation-Design – das ist das neue Fußkreuz „Wings“

2016
30 JAHRE PROROLL

Unglaublich, was sich in den letzten drei Jahrzehnten bei proroll getan hat – von ganz kleinen Anfängen als Rollenhändler in einem Hinterhof hat sich das Unternehmen zu einem international tätigen Produzenten und Großhändler entwickelt. Dabei waren die Zeiten nicht immer rosig, denn es gab auch mal Ups & Downs, auf die auch proroll reagieren mußte .. was ist alles passiert in den letzten dreißig Jahren? Reisen Sie weiter nach unten auf der Seite mit unseren Erinnerungen der letzten drei Jahrzehnte.

2015
100QM PROROLL QS-CENTER:

Eine Qualitätsprüfung ist gut… Dauertests sind noch viel besser ! Deshalb laufen schon seit ein paar Wochen umfangreiche Dauertestserien verschiedener Artikel im nagelneuen proroll-Testcenter. Hier ergänzen moderne Testmaschinen ab sofort das umfangreiche Qualitätssicherungsmanagement am Standort Hückeswagen. Im neuen Testcenter verifizieren wir die Produkte unserer Zulieferer, aktualisieren regelmäßig eigene Testdaten und ermitteln die technischen Eigenschaften unserer eigenen Produkte, Entwicklungen und Innovationen. //

2014
FUSSKREUZ SERIE BERLIN WIRD ENTWICKELT

In 2014 stand die Entwicklung einer ganz neuen Fußkreuzserie auf dem Plan, und der interne proroll Think-Tank war mit der Beantwortung der Frage: Was braucht der Markt, welche Formgebung passt zu aktuellen Möbelentwürfen? erfolgreich! Berlin ist die Antwort. Klare Strukturen reduziertes Design und eine überzeugende Präsentation auf der interzum 2015

2013
PROROLL WÄCHST WEITER

Ja, man kann die Halle erweitern…deshalb werden nun 1.600 Quadratmeter angebaut. Was mit einem übersichtlichen Lagerbestand von einigen Kisten und Kartons begann, hat sich inzwischen zu einer Erfolgsgeschichte entwickelt. Heute erwirtschaften 22 feste Mitarbeiter rund 10 Mio. Euro Umsatz. Bei einer Exportquote von 32% und Geschäftstätigkeiten in über 30 Ländern ist der Name proroll in ganz Europa und sogar darüber hinaus in Ländern wie USA und Australien bekannt.

2012
DIE IDEE FÜR EINEN AUSBAU

Mehr Platz für die Komponentenmontage „Made in Hückeswagen“ und für die Entwicklung von Auftragskomponenten – könnte man dafür eine neue Halle an die bestehende heransetzen?

2011
FUSSKREUZSERIE LONDON

Vertriebsstart der innovativen Fußkreuzserie LONDON_345, ein moderner Klassiker mit hohem ästetischen Potential.

Aus Aluminium-Vollguss und in Europa produziert tritt es seinen Siegeszug an.

2010
BÜROSTUHLRENNEN

Zum ersten Mal fördert proroll das „Bürostuhlrennen“ – einen abgefahrenen Event, bei dem traditionelle Büromöbel so richtig auf Fahrt gebracht werden. Ehrensache: Das Team proroll wirft sich mit auf den Parkours!

2008
ENDLICH DAHEIM

Baupläne werden Wirklichkeit – in der Heinrich-Schicht-Straße finden sich ideale Standortbedingungen für den riesigen Neubau. Endlich entsteht ein eigenes Domizil, ganz und gar maßgeschneidert für proroll!

2008
PLANUNGEN FÜR DIE ZUKUNFT

2008 macht die beengte Situation in der Industriestraße keinen Spaß mehr; die ansteigende Komponentenmontage in Hückeswagen benötigt mehr Platz, und die ausgelagerten Lagerkapazitäten sind ineffizient und kostenintensiv. Im Januar kommt eine neue Transportrollenserie heraus…und proroll macht den ersten Spatenstich, um Verwaltung, Montage und Lager in einem modernen Domizil zusammenzufassen.

2003
UMSATZ 2 MIO. EURO

Die Nachfrage steigt weiter, bald muss eine weitere Hochregalhalle mit 400 Quadratmetern her!

2007
UMSATZ 5 MIO. EURO
1999
EIGENE ROLLENSERIE & MÖBELKOMPONENTEN

proroll entwickelt sich von einem Handelsunternehmen zu einem Hersteller. Mit eigenen Werkzeugen werden im In- und Ausland eigene Fußkreuze und Apparaterollen hergestellt – dadurch können Qualitätsmaßstäbe bereits bei der Konstruktion gesetzt werden. Das Produktportfolio wird um einen zweite Bereich erweitert. Stuhl- und Möbelkomponenten sind nun hinzugekommen.

1997
INTERZUM IN KÖLN

Das Produktsortiment wurde die letzten Jahre intensiv überarbeitet und neu ausgerichtet. Neuer Schwerpunkt für Produkte und Kunden sind nun die Möbelindustrie und der Ladenbau.

1991
DEM ERFOLG AUF DER SPUR

Der Vertriebsleiter Stefan Fornahl wird nach Übernahme der Anteile von Reinhold Kohn ab 1991 Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter. Der Umsatz hat sich da schon mehr als verdoppelt. Der schwierige Neubeginn nur fünf Jahre zuvor ist einem dynamischen Wachstum gewichen – bis auf 1,8 Mio. DM!

1992
HEISST ES AUCH OFFIZIELL PROROLL

Die erfolgreichen Veränderungen soll auch eine neue Firmierung deutlich machen. Nachdem der Name zuvor schon als Produktmarke genutzt wurde, gibt es ab sofort auch ganz offiziell die Firma „proroll“…bald darauf übernimmt die Familie Fornahl alle Geschäftsanteile.

1989
NORDSTRASSE 90 IN REMSCHEID

Während im Bergischen Land wieder einmal Schnee geschippt wird,ist bei proroll erneut Zeit für eine Veränderung – der Umzug in größere Betriebsräume. Ab 1989 stehen in einer alten Autowerkstatt 600 Quadratmeter für das Räder- und Rollensortiment zur Verfügung. An diesem Standort erfolgt in den folgenden Jahren der erste große Wachstumsschub des Unternehmens.

Stefan Fornahl beendet seine Berufsausbildung und bringt als Vertriebsleiter neue Impulse und junge Ideen in das Unternehmen ein.

1988
EISENWARENMESSE

Die Geschäfte beginnen zu Laufen – zwei Jahre nach der Übernahme des Rollenbetriebes präsentiert sich die neue Unternehmung stolz auf der Eisenwarenmesse in Köln. Mit dem Programm wird hauptsächlich der Eisenwarenhandel und die Industrie angesprochen…

1987
ELBERFELDER STR. 112

Während im selben Jahr als technische Pioniertat die Raumstation MIR in die Umlaufbahn geschossen wurde, wurde in Remscheidemsig Inventur gemacht, die eingelagerten Schrauben und Rollen gezählt und über neue Produkte nachgedacht, die das Unternehmen auf eine höhere Umlaufbahn katapultieren könnten. 1987 beginnt der heutige Geschäftsführer Stefan Fornahl seine Ausbildung zum Kaufmann im Groß- und Außenhandel

03 FEBRUAR
1986
DER URSPRUNG

Mit einem Warenbestand von 30.000 DM begann 1986 die proroll-Story. Was für eine Erfolgsgeschichte das einmal werden sollte, hätte damals, in jenem ungemütlichen Winter im Bergischen Land, niemand gedacht. Im Februar wurde Herr Fornahl Senior einer der Sanierungsgesellschafter der „Rollentechnik Kohn“– einer eher kleinen Großhandlung für Räder und Rollen. Das war der Ursprung der späteren proroll…